What's the difference between deactivating and deleting my account?
A lot of people deactivate their accounts for temporary reasons. This option gives you the flexibility to leave and come back whenever you want. If you deactivate your account:
- Your Timeline disappears from the Facebook service immediately.
- People on Facebook will not be able to search for you. Some information, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others.
- We save your Timeline information (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your Timeline will be there when you come back.
If you permanently delete your account:
- You will not be able to regain access to your account again.
- Most personally identifiable information associated with it is removed from our database. This includes information like your email address and mailing address. Some personally identifiable information may remain, such as your name if you sent a message to someone else.
- Copies of some material (ex: photos, notes) may remain in our servers for technical reasons, but this material is disassociated from any personal identifiers and completely inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 3 months ago