How do I deactivate my account?
Deactivate to turn off your account for as long as you want:
- Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
- Select Settings
- Click Security in the left column
- Click Deactivate your account
When you deactivate your account, your Timeline and all information associated with it disappears from Facebook immediately. People on Facebook will not be able to search for you or view any of your information.
If you’d like to come back to Facebook anytime after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account by logging in with your email and password. Your Timeline will be restored in its entirety (ex: friends, photos and interests). Remember that you will need to have access to the login email address for your account in order to reactivate it.
To permanently delete your account:
Permanently deleting your account means you will not ever be able to reactivate or retrieve any of the content or information you've added. If you would like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, please contact us.
Note: Facebook does not use content associated with accounts that have been deactivated or deleted.
If you can't get into your account, you can reset your password.