Group Features

Group Photos

To share photos or videos with a group:

  1. Click Add Photo/Video at the top of the group
  2. Pick a sharing option:
    • Upload a Photo/Video lets you pick a single file to share
    • Create Photo Album lets you organize multiple photos in an album to share with the group
  3. When you're ready to share, click Post

Any member of the group can add photos to a group album. Group photos are only visible to other members, and only group members can be tagged in group photos.

Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

To see albums and individual photos that have been added to a group, click Photos at the top of the group.

Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Group Messages

Starting a chat with all members of a group you're in is currently only available in smaller groups. To send a message to the members of a group you're in:

  1. Click at the top right of your group and select Send Message
  2. Use the checkboxes to select who you want to message, or click Select All to message the entire group
  3. Click Start Chat

Note: Anyone in the conversation can add other people, whether those people are in the group or not. Anyone added will be able to see all of the previous messages in the conversation.

Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
All members of a group can chat together in group messages, even if they're not all friends with each other. However, only friends can message each other individually and start a one-on-one conversation.
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

If you feel uncomfortable in a group message, you can leave the conversation at any time. If necessary, you can report a message or block the person.

Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Group Events

To create an event for your group, go to the group and click in the top right. Then select Create an Event from the dropdown menu. You need to be an admin to create an event in a large open group.

While creating your event, you'll need to choose a privacy option. Note that once your group event is created, the privacy option can't be changed.

Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Yes. To invite your entire group to an event, check the Invite All Members box when creating your event.

For groups over 250 members, only admins can invite the whole group to an event. If you aren't an admin, you can still invite friends who are in the group.

To see all events for your group, go to the Events tab at the top of the group.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Group Files and Docs

To post files or share Dropbox files—like presentations, schedules, and documents—to a group, click Add File and choose a file from your computer or Dropbox account. Keep in mind links to Dropbox files can be shared outside of the group.

To view all files shared in a group, click the Files tab at the top of the group.

Who can view, upload and download files depends on the group's privacy settings. Please review the Facebook Community Standards to learn more about specific types of conduct and content that are not permitted on Facebook.

Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Docs allow people to collaborate while writing and editing documents. Similar to a wiki, all members of a group can view and edit docs.

To create a doc for your group:
  1. Click the Files tab at the top of the group.
  2. Click + Create Doc on the right.
  3. Enter the content you want to share. If you'd like to add formatting, use the tools at the top of the page.
  4. Click Save to publish your doc.
Last edited about 10 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When someone adds a Dropbox file, a story is created and shared with the group. Click on the story to view the file.

Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

A group admin or the person who uploaded the file can delete it by clicking the down arrow next to the post and selecting Delete Post. Note: if someone has the permalink to your Dropbox file, they may still be able to access it.

Last edited over a year ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

To add your Dropbox file to a group, you first have to add the app. Like other apps on Facebook, Dropbox needs certain information to work.

Files you upload to a group using Dropbox are hosted on Dropbox's servers. When you delete a file from a Facebook group, it removes the file from the group. However, the file will still exist in the Dropbox account of the person who uploaded the file. Anyone with the link to the file may still be able to access the file.

Last edited over a year ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·