Instant Personalization

View content that's tailored to you and your friends around the web.

Instant personalization allows you to bring your friends and interests with you when you visit an app or website. Apps and websites using this feature must adhere to clear privacy guidelines and can only use info from your public profile—which includes your name, profile picture, gender, networks and any info you choose to share as Public—and your list of friends to offer you a more personalized experience. To access any non-public info, these apps and websites must ask for explicit permission.

When you first visit a website using instant personalization, you’ll see a notification that your experience is being personalized if you are logged in to Facebook. You can choose to learn more or turn off the personalized experience by clicking Disable.

If you don't want your experience personalized on these sites, you can turn off instant personalization completely:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page (ex: your homepage) and select Settings
  2. Click Apps in the left column
  3. Go to the Instant Personalization section and click Edit
  4. Click Disable instant personalization

Learn more about Instant Personalization.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
No info will be published to Facebook unless you explicitly authorize the app or website to publish on your behalf or you click on a Like button or other social plugin.
Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When you're on an instant personalization website, you should receive a notification or see a message on the website indicating that it's using Facebook to personalize your experience.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

You can turn off instant personalization on a particular website by clicking Disable in the notification at the top of the page. Certain websites may also have a learn more link that will allow you to control your settings or turn off instant personalization for the website.

You can also turn off instant personalization for all sites:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page (ex: your homepage) and select Settings
  2. Click Apps in the left column
  3. Go to the Instant Personalization section and click Edit
  4. Click Disable instant personalization

This will prevent you from seeing a personalized experience on instant personalization websites and prevents your friends from seeing your info on these sites. You can log in with Facebook on these sites directly to re-enable a personalized experience.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Personalize your Outlook

Facebook has partnered with Outlook to allow you to view public information, such as names and profile pictures, next to emails.

Learn more about Outlook's Facebook integration.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·