How News Feed Works
The News Feed algorithm uses several factors to determine top stories, including the number of comments, who posted the story, and what type of post it is (ex: photo, video, status update).
If you feel you're missing stories you'd like to see or seeing stories in your News Feed that you don't want to see, use the different News Feed controls to adjust your settings.
You might see stories in your News Feed about people you're not friends with if your friends like or comment on the stories.
If your friends like or comment on stories in groups that aren't secret, those stories can also appear in your News Feed, even if you're not a member of the group.
When you send someone a friend request, stories they've shared as Public may appear in your News Feed. This way you don’t have wait for them to respond to your friend request to see their public updates.
Keep in mind that News Feed won't show stories that a non-friend wouldn't be able to see.
People who have yet to accept your friend requests will also appear on your Friends page. Here, you can add them to friend lists.
When someone sends you a friend request, public stories about you (ex: stories you posted with the privacy set to Public, or posts you're tagged in that have the privacy set to Public) may appear in their News Feed. If you decline a friend request from this person, stories about you will not appear in their News Feed anymore.
News Feed will never show stories that a non-friend wouldn’t ordinarily be able to see. For example, if you post a video and share it with Friends, a person who's waiting for you to approve their friend request won't see it in their News Feed. If you share the video with a Public audience, that person might see it in their News Feed.
Learn more about how to choose who can see things you share.
When you become friends with someone on Facebook shortly after an event you both said you attended, the event may be part of a friendship story that appears on your Timeline and in News Feed. You’ll be able to see how you met this friend when you view your friendship page.
If you don't want the event to be a part of the story, you or your friend can remove it:
- Go to your friend's Timeline and click Friends on their cover photo
- Choose See Friendship
- Click x next to Met after (event) at the top of the page to remove the info from both the friendship page and feed stories
Keep in mind that you can also delete the full friendship story and any other feed story by clicking x next to it.