Common Myths About Facebook

No. We will always keep Facebook a free service for everyone.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 2 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

No, our ad targeting is done anonymously by our system, without sharing personally identifiable information with advertisers.

If an advertiser selects demographic targeting for their ads, the system automatically matches those ads to the appropriate audience. Advertisers only receive anonymous, aggregated reports to let them know that their ads were seen by the groups they targeted.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

No. You have control over how your information is shared. We don't share your personal information with people or services you don't want. We don't give advertisers access to your personal information. We don't sell any of your information to anyone and we never will.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

No, Facebook doesn't let people track who views their Timeline. Third-party apps also can't provide this functionality.

If you come across an app that claims to offer this ability, please report the app.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

No. Facebook doesn't let you track who views your Timeline or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this.

If you come across an app that says it can show you who's viewing your Timeline or posts, please report the app.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
No. Private messages only appear in your Inbox on Facebook. Learn more about what's on your Timeline.
You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Your information—your name, basic info, what you like, who your friends are, what they've liked, what they recommend—isn't shared with external sites that you visit with a social plugin. Because they've given Facebook this space on their sites, they don't receive or interact with the information about your activity there. Similarly, no personal information about your activity is provided to advertisers on Facebook or on the other site.
You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

No. An app should never force you to log in again, fill out a survey, enter a promotion, download a toolbar or take any other unrelated action. The only thing that an app can require you to do to see content is to Like its profile page.

If you believe that an app is abusive, please report the app.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 2 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·