Timeline Privacy

Adjust What People Can See

Here's an overview of who can see what's on your profile and tools you can use to control what you share on your profile and Timeline.

Overview
  • You can share basic information like your hometown or birthday when you edit your profile. Click Update Info (under your cover photo) and then click the Edit button next to the box you want to edit. Use the audience selector next to each piece of information to choose who can see that info.
  • Anyone can see your public information, which includes your name, profile picture, cover photo, gender, username, user ID (account number), and networks (learn why).
  • Only you and your friends can post to your Timeline. When you post something, you can control who sees it by using the audience selector. When other people post on your Timeline, you can control who sees it by choosing the audience of the Who can see what others post on your Timeline setting.
Tools
  • As you edit your info, you can control who sees what by using the audience selector.
  • Before photos, posts and app activities that you’re tagged in appear on your Timeline, you can approve or dismiss them by turning on Timeline review. Keep in mind, you can still be tagged, and the tagged content (ex: photo, post) is shared with the audience the person who posted it selected other places on Facebook (ex: News Feed and search).
  • To see what your profile looks like to other people, use the View As tool.
Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

To select the audience for stuff your friends share on your Timeline:

  1. Click in the top right of any page and select Settings
  2. Click Timeline and Tagging in the left column
  3. Look for the setting Who can see what others post on your Timeline? and click Edit to the far right
  4. Select an audience from the dropdown menu
Keep in mind, posts on your Timeline may appear elsewhere on Facebook to the audience they're shared with, such as in News Feed and search.
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When you share something on your Timeline, use the audience selector to choose who it's shared with. If you want to change who you shared something with after you post it, return to the audience selector and pick a new audience.

You can also adjust the audience of many posts at once. Within your Account Settings, you'll find a tool that helps you change the audience of posts you've shared with Public or Friends of Friends to Friends Only. To use this tool:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and choose Settings
  2. Select Privacy from the left menu
  3. Under the Who can see my stuff? section, click Limit the audience for posts I've shared with friends of friends or Public?
  4. Click Limit Old Posts
Some important notes about this tool:
  • If you want to undo this action in the future, you'll need to adjust the audience of each individual post. Limiting the audience of your previous posts cannot be reversed in one click.
  • If you have shared a previous post with a Custom audience such as Friends except Acquaintances or Close Friends, this tool will not change the audience for those past posts.
  • If you tagged someone in the post, the audience of the post will still include the person you tagged and people they include in posts they're tagged in.
  • This tool only controls the audience for posts you've shared. If you've been tagged in someone else's post, they control the audience for their posts.
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

You can see what your profile looks like to other people by using the View As tool. To use View As:

  1. Go to your profile and click
  2. Click View As... in the dropdown menu.
  3. You’ll see what your profile looks to the public. To see how your profile appears to a specific person, like a friend or coworker, click View as Specific Person, type their name into the field and press enter.

Keep in mind that posts and photos you’ve hidden on your Timeline are still visible to the audience they're shared with other places on Facebook, like in News Feed and search. Learn more about choosing who can see the things you share.

Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Other Tools and Settings

To see what your profile looks like to other people, you can log in from a computer and use the View As tool.

Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Timeline review lets you choose whether posts you're tagged in appear on your Timeline. Keep in mind that posts you're tagged in can also appear in News Feed, search and other places on Facebook.

When people you’re not friends with tag you in a post, they automatically go to Timeline review. If you'd also like to review tags by friends, you can turn on Timeline review for tags from anyone. To turn on Timeline review:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
  2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging
  3. Look for the setting Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your Timeline? and click Edit to the far right
  4. Select Enabled from the dropdown menu
Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Your email address has both a privacy setting (that controls who you share it with) and a setting that controls whether it shows on your profile or not. For example, you can choose to show your email address on your profile, but set its privacy to Friends, so your email is shared on your profile and other places on Facebook with your friends.

To adjust who you share your email address with and decide if it shows on your profile:

  1. Click About at the top of your profile
  2. Scroll to Contact Information and click the Edit button
  3. Click the audience selector to the right of your email address to edit who your email address is shared with
  4. Select Shown on Timeline or Hidden from Timeline
Note: When you hide your email on your profile, the people you share it with can still access your email address elsewhere such as in search and other places on Facebook.
Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
By default, everyone can see who your friends are in the Friends section of your Timeline. To change this setting:
  1. Go to your Timeline
  2. Click on the Friends section under your cover photo
  3. Click at the top of the page and select Edit Privacy from the dropdown menu
  4. Use the audience selector to choose who you share your friend list with on your Timeline

Note: People may see mutual friends when they visit your Timeline. Your friends also control who can see their friendships on their own Timelines. If people can see your friendship on another Timeline, they'll also be able to see it in News Feed, search and other places on Facebook.

Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Only you and your friends can post on your Timeline. To prevent your friends from posting on your Timeline:
  1. Click in the upper-right corner of any page and select Settings
  2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging
  3. Find the setting Who can post on your Timeline? and click Edit to the far right
  4. Select Only Me from the dropdown menu
Note: Your friends will still be able to comment on any post they can see (ex: a photo you share on your Timeline that includes them in the audience).
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Yes, whenever someone sees a link to your profile (ex: in search or posts you’re tagged in), they can click it. What someone sees when they visit your profile depends on your settings and the audience set for stuff shared on your profile and Timeline (ex: photos, posts, albums). To see what your profile looks like to others, use the View As tool.

Keep in mind that posts and photos you’ve hidden on your Timeline are still visible to the audience they're shared with other places on Facebook, like News Feed and search.

Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·