Use your Facebook account to sign into other sites and see what your friends are doing across the web.
When you log into a website with your Facebook account, it can access information you’ve added on Facebook in order to provide a social and personalized experience on the site. The Facebook Platform Policies restrict how these sites can use this information.
For instance, if you’ve blocked someone on Facebook, that person will not be able to see you on a site you've logged into. When other people log into a website, those people will not be able to see information you’ve added through Facebook that they wouldn’t otherwise be able to see simply by browsing Facebook. You can decide what types of information your friends’ apps can access from the Apps > Apps others use section on the Account Settings page.
Yes, you can use your Facebook account on several third-party websites and apps. These websites and apps are using the Facebook Platform and must follow the Facebook Platform Policies. Look for the Login button that prompts you to log in with Facebook.
You should make sure that clicking the Login button opens a separate browser pop-up window, and that the Web address for the pop-up contains the proper "www.facebook.com" domain. If it does, you’ll know that it’s a legitimate Facebook page and not a phishing attempt, and you can log in safely and securely.
When you log in with your Facebook account to another site, you can automatically see which friends of yours have already logged in with their accounts, and they can see you as well.
When your friend logs in with their Facebook account to another site, they'll be able to compare their Facebook friend list with information from that site in order to invite more friends to connect. For example, if you use Digg.com with the same email info as your Facebook account, and your friend logs into their account with Digg, they'll be able to see the fact that you have a Digg account unless you opt out of having friends find you on other sites.
In order to opt out of being found on other sites, you must first remove all of your apps and websites.
You can also edit your settings if you don't want search engines to link to your Timeline.
Note that when you turn off Platform, you may lose all existing Platform information and settings you've saved and friends won't be able to interact with you using any apps or websites. This info can't be recovered.
Websites and mobile apps that use Facebook Login must now ask separately for permission to:
- Access your profile information to log in or sign up
- Share activities back to Facebook
You can also choose to skip sharing altogether by choosing Skip as an option when a mobile app or website asks for permission to share. You may also choose the audience you share to, whether it's to Friends, Only Me or a custom audience. This gives you more control over how and when you choose to share app activities back to Facebook.