Group Privacy & Abuse
There are three privacy options for groups: Open, Closed and Secret. The table below shows who can join these groups and what people can see about them.
|Who can join?||Anyone can join or be added or invited by a member||Anyone can ask to join or be added or invited by a member||Anyone, but they have to be added or invited by a member|
|Who can see the group's name?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see who's in the group?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
|Who can see the group description?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see the group tags?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see what members post in the group?||Anyone||Only members||Only members|
|Who can find the group in search?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
|Who can see stories about the group on Facebook (like in News Feed and search)?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
The changes admins can make to group privacy depend on the size of the group.
Groups with fewer than 250 people
To change your group's privacy as an admin:
- Click in the top right of the group > Edit Group Settings
- Choose a new group privacy option under the Privacy section
- Click Save
All members of the group will receive a notification that the privacy settings have changed.
Groups with 250 people or more
When a group hits 250 people, you can only change an Open group to Closed or Secret, and a Closed group to Secret. You won't be able to change the privacy again after this.
To leave a group, go to the group and click at the top-right corner. Then select Leave Group from the dropdown menu.
When you leave a group:
- Members won't be notified
- You're removed from the member list and the group will be removed from your list of groups
- You'll no longer get group notifications
- People will no longer know when you've seen a group post, even if you saw it before you left the group
Just like being tagged in a photo, you can only be added to a group by one of your friends. When a friend adds you to a group, a story in the group—and in News Feed for groups that are not Secret—will indicate that your friend has added you to a group. Learn more about the privacy options for groups.
Keep in mind:
- For most groups, only your friends can add you to groups. Groups for schools allow people to add people from their school community even if they aren't friends on Facebook.
- When a friend adds you to a group, you'll get a notification right away.
- You can leave a group at any time. Once you leave a group, you can't be added by anyone else unless you ask to be re-added.
If you see a group that you think isn't following Facebook's Terms, you can report it. To report a group:
- Go to the group you want to report
- Click at the top right corner
- Pick Report Group from the dropdown menu
Groups containing drug-related content, nudity, or other graphic or sexually suggestive content aren't allowed, nor are groups that promote violence or that attack an individual or group. For information about what we allow and don’t allow on Facebook, please read the Community Standards.
Learn more about reporting things on Facebook.
If you want to report something that's been posted in a group, you can click the icon in the top right of the post:
- Report to Admin makes the group admins aware of this post, and tells them the name of the group member who reported it. Admins may or may not choose to remove the post or block the person who shared the post. This will not send a report to Facebook.
- Report as Abuse sends a report to Facebook. Learn more about the Facebook Community Standards.
As group admin, you'll see a notification in your group when someone reports a post to you. This feature lets group members highlight posts for you to review for any reason (ex: inappropriate or offensive posts). To manage a reported post, click the notification and then choose to:
- Ignore it by removing it from the report queue
- Delete the post
- Delete the post and block the member who created the post
To report the post to Facebook, find the post on your group's wall, click and then choose Report as Abuse. Keep in mind that reports are anonymous.