Finding Friends & People You May Know

People You May Know are people on Facebook that you might know. We show you people based on mutual friends, work and education information, networks you’re part of, contacts you’ve imported and many other factors.

You might occasionally see people you don’t know or don’t want to be friends with. To remove them from People You May Know, click x next to their names. Facebook doesn't send friend requests to anyone that shows up in this list on your behalf.

Keep in mind that you should only send friend requests to people you have a real-life connection to, like your friends, family, coworkers or classmates.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 3 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

People You May Know can appear:

  • On the Find Friends page
  • On your homepage
  • In ad space around the site
You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited last Friday
Was this answer helpful? ·

By default, anyone on Facebook can send you a friend request. If you’d like to change who can send you friend requests:

  1. Click in the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
  2. Click Privacy in the left column
  3. Click Edit next to Who can send you friend requests?
  4. Select an audience from the dropdown menu
You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited last Friday
Was this answer helpful? ·

To view friend requests you've sent:

  1. Click at the top of any Facebook page
  2. Click Find Friends
  3. Click View Sent Requests

You can cancel friend requests you've sent from this page by hovering over Friend Request Sent and selecting Cancel Request.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited last Friday
Was this answer helpful? ·

We worked with the National Association of Colleges and Employers on the following tips. For more information, please visit http://www.naceweb.org.

Facebook can be a great tool for networking and finding openings during your job search. Since you share personal information on Facebook, it’s important to know about best practices and tools you can use to make sure your profile is suitable for potential employers.

Use and understand your privacy controls

Privacy controls limit who has access to the individual posts you create. Protect the privacy of your photos, videos and status updates by choosing to share your personal information with friends.

You can also use friend lists or a group to post to a smaller set of people.

Understand your 'digital footprint'

Information you share online – on Facebook or anywhere else – always has the ability to be copied, pasted, and re-distributed in ways that you might not have intended. What you do today could still be accessible to people in the future and could be relevant to your job searches down the road. Be aware of the longevity of your digital footprint and the future impact of the decisions you make today.

You're reading the Desktop Help answer. Learn more in our other Help Centers.
Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

If you used the Find Friends page to import your contacts from other places (ex: your email account), you can remove all of the contacts at once, or you can manage your contacts.

Although we can't retract invitations that have been sent to the contacts you imported, you can delete the contacts from your Invite History list. This will prevent any future invitation reminders from being sent to these people on your behalf.

Last edited about 7 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

If a friend or contact has passed away, you or their family can memorialize their Facebook account. Learn more about account memorialization or contact us to request memorialization of this person's account.

Last edited about 9 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·