Editing Your Settings

If you deactivate your account, your profile disappears from the Facebook service immediately. People on Facebook won't be able to search for you, though some info, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others. We also save your profile information (ex: friends, photos, interests) in case you want to come back.

If you don't think you'll use Facebook again, you can request to have your account permanently deleted. Please keep in mind that you won't be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you've added. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your info from Facebook. Then, if you'd like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log into your account and let us know.

If you can't log in to your account, you'll need to reset your password first. To do this, go to www.facebook.com and click the Forgot your password? link below the password field. Once you’ve followed the instructions to reset your password and can log into your account, you can deactivate or delete your account using the steps outlined above.

Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

To find your settings, click from your Facebook homepage and select Settings. From here, you can:

  • Edit your basic preferences (ex: privacy, login email, password, notifications)
  • Update your app and payment settings
Last edited about a week ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When you create a new password, make sure that it's at least 6 characters long. Try to use a complex combination of numbers, letters and punctuation marks. If the password you entered isn't strong enough, try mixing together uppercase and lowercase letters or making the password longer.

The password you create should be easy for you to remember but hard for someone else to figure out. For extra security, your Facebook password should be different than other passwords that you use to log into other places, like your email or bank account.

Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

You can change the email address we use to send you notifications from your General Account Settings:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
  2. Click Email, then click Add another email
  3. Enter the new email address
  4. Enter your password
  5. Click Save Changes

A confirmation email will be sent to the new email address. You won't be able to log in with the new address until it's confirmed.

Note: If you have more than one email address linked to your account, we'll send notifications to the one you choose as your primary email address on your General Account Settings page.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Your @facebook.com email is an optional email address for your Facebook account, and is based on your username. Email messages that are sent to your @facebook.com email address will be forwarded to the primary email on your Facebook account. Learn how to update your primary email.

Keep in mind that if you send a reply to these forwarded messages, it will come from your primary email address, even though the original message was sent to your Facebook email.

To enable or disable your Facebook email address:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and choose Settings
  2. Click the Email section
  3. Check or uncheck the box next to Use your Facebook email
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

To update your language:

  1. Click at the top right of a Facebook page and select Settings
  2. Click Edit to the right of the Language section
  3. Select your primary language from the dropdown menu and click Save Changes

You can also set your language from any Facebook page. Simply scroll to the bottom of the right column and click your current language, then choose a new language from the menu.

Last edited about 3 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

We want to make sure that your account and the information in it stays safe, so once you set up a security question on your account there's no way to update it. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Last edited over a year ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Secure browsing (https) is a security feature. With secure browsing, we encrypt your activity on Facebook where possible, which makes it harder for anyone else to access your Facebook information without your permission.

Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·