Choose Who You Share With
How Privacy Works When You Share
You'll find an audience selector tool most places you share status updates, photos and other stuff. Just click the tool and select who you want to share something with.
The tool remembers the audience you shared with the last time you posted something, and uses the same audience when you share again unless you change it. For example, if you choose Public for a post, your next post will also be Public unless you change the audience when you post. This one tool appears in multiple places, such as your privacy shortcuts and privacy settings. When you make a change to the audience selector tool in one place, the change updates the tool everywhere it appears.
The audience selector also appears alongside things you've already shared, so it's clear who can see each post. If you want to change the audience of a post after you've shared it, just click the audience selector and select a new audience.
Remember, when you post to another person's Timeline, that person controls what audience can view the post. Additionally, anyone who gets tagged in a post may see it, along with their friends.
You can use the audience selector to change who can see stuff you share on your Timeline after you share it. Keep in mind, when you share something on someone else's Timeline, they control the audience for the post.
When you share something on Facebook, you can choose who can see it by using the audience selector tool. Anyone who can see a post can like or comment on it.
When using Facebook on your mobile device, some apps and features don't have an audience selector to control the audience of posts and other stuff you share. To select the audience stuff is shared with from these apps:
- Click in the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
- Click Apps and look for the setting Old versions of Facebook for mobile
- Click Edit to the far right and select an audience from the dropdown menu
Your Audience Options
The audience selector lets you choose a specific audience. Your options include:
Public: When you share something with Public that means anyone including people off of Facebook can see it.
Friends of Friends: This audience includes all of your friends and any friends that they have.
Friends (+ friends of anyone tagged): This option lets you post stuff to your friends on Facebook. If anyone else is tagged in a post, then the audience expands to also include the tagged person and their friends.
Only Me: This option allows you to post stuff to your Timeline that is visible only to you. Posts with the audience of Only Me will appear in your News Feed but not your friends' feeds. If you tag someone in an Only Me post, they will be able to see the post.
Custom: When you choose Custom, you can selectively share something with specific people, or hide it from specific people. You can also share with specific friend lists if you’ve set them up, such as Family or Best Friends, or hide posts from your Co-Workers list. Custom also provides the option to share with groups or networks you belong to.
If you're comfortable making something you share open to anyone, choose Public from the audience selector before you post.
Something that is Public can be seen by people who are not your friends, people off of Facebook, and people who view content through different media (new and old alike) such as print, broadcast (television, etc.) and other sites on the Internet. When you comment on other people’s Public posts, your comment is Public as well.
This option lets you post things to your friends on Facebook. If anyone else is tagged in a post, it becomes Friends (+) because the audience expands to include the tagged person and their friends.
If you don't want your photo or post to be visible to the friends of the people you tag, you can adjust this setting. Simply click on the audience selector next to the story, select Custom, and uncheck the Friends of those tagged box.