You can block someone to unfriend them and prevent them from starting conversations with you or seeing things you post on your profile.People you block can no longer:
- See things you post on your profile
- Tag you
- Invite you to events or groups
- Start a conversation with you
- Add you as a friend
Blocking is reciprocal, so you also won't be able to do things like start a conversation with them or add them as a friend. Keep in mind that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions, such as in apps or groups, and only affects your experience on Facebook, not elsewhere on the web.
Note: Removing a block will not restore the friend connection. If you block a friend and then remove that person from your block list, you'll need to send them a new friend request.
To block someone:
- Click at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Click How do I stop someone from bothering me?
- Enter the name or email address of the person you want to block and click Block.
- If you entered a name, select the specific person you want to block from the list that appears.
People will not be notified when you block them.
If you can't find someone using this method, try going to the person's profile and selecting Report/Block from the dropdown.
If you still can't find the person you want to block, it's possible that this person no longer uses Facebook or has restricted their privacy settings. Keep in mind that you can always control the audience of stuff you share.
To unblock someone:
- Click in the upper-right corner of your homepage and select How do I stop someone from bothering me?
- Click View All Blocked Users.
- Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
Note: This will not automatically add the person back to your friends list. If you want to become friends with this person again, you'll need to send them a new friend request.
By default, anyone on Facebook can add you as a friend. If you’d like to change who can send you friend requests:
- Click in the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
- Click Privacy in the left column
- Click Edit next to Who can send you friend requests?
- Select an audience from the dropdown menu
If you're having trouble finding the person you want to block, you can also block someone by submitting their email address:
- Click from anywhere in Facebook and select Settings
- Click Blocking on the left
- Enter the email address of the person you want to block in the Block Users field and click Block.
If the email address you submit is associated with an account, that person will be blocked. Unfortunately, for privacy reasons, we’re unable to provide information about any accounts that may be associated with a blocked email address.
Besides blocking, there are other ways to control who can see the things you post on your Timeline. Learn more about your Privacy Settings.
Yes. Blocking allows you to prevent many interactions with someone on Facebook, but you may still encounter content they’ve shared.
Here’s what you might see:
- Messages: Your message history with someone you’ve blocked will stay in your inbox. If the blocked person is ever included in a conversation with a group of friends, you’ll be able to see the message. Remember, you can leave a conversation that you don’t want to be part of, or delete a conversation that you don’t like.
- Mutual friend stories: There’s a chance that you'll see stories about the blocked person through mutual friends. For example, if the blocked person tags a mutual friend in a photo, you might see this story on your friend’s Timeline.
- Photos: You might see photos or tags of the blocked person added by other people.
- Groups: Someone you’ve blocked won’t be able to add you to a group, but you’ll be able to see groups that the blocked person created or is a member of.
- Events: Someone you’ve blocked won’t be able to invite you to an event, but you’ll be able to see events to which both you and the blocked person are invited.
- Games and apps: Since games and apps are run by outside developers, the Facebook block won't apply to them. So you could see someone you blocked while you're playing a game (ex: in the game's chat room).