Choose Who You Share With
How Privacy Works When You Share
You'll find an audience selector tool most places you share status updates, photos and other stuff. Click the tool and select who you want to share something with.
The tool remembers the audience you shared with the last time you posted something, and uses the same audience when you share again unless you change it. For example, if you choose Public for a post, your next post will also be Public unless you change the audience when you post. This one tool appears in multiple places, such as your privacy shortcuts and privacy settings. When you make a change to the audience selector tool in one place, the change updates the tool everywhere it appears.
The audience selector also appears alongside things you've already shared, so it's clear who can see each post. After you've shared a post, you have the option to change who it's shared with. If you want to change the audience of a post after you've shared it, click the audience selector and select a new audience.
Remember, when you post to another person's Timeline, that person controls what audience can view the post. Additionally, anyone who gets tagged in a post may see it, along with their friends.
Learn more about the audiences you can choose from when you share.
You can use the audience selector to change who can see stuff you share on your Timeline after you share it. Keep in mind, when you share something on someone else's Timeline, they control the audience for the post.
People who can see your post can also see the audience you chose to share with:
- Friends (+)
- Only Me
Keep in mind, when you post you can choose who you're sharing with.
When you use the Custom audience option to share a post with a list or specific people, the people you share the post with may be able to see each other's names. No one is able to see who a post is hidden from or the name of the list the post is shared with.Note: If you share with one of your smart lists, the people on that list will be able to see the name of the list.
When someone clicks Share below your post, they aren’t able to share your photos, videos or status updates through Facebook with people who weren’t in the audience you originally selected to share with. Only the people who could see those posts when you first made them are able to see them when someone clicks Share. Use the audience selector to adjust who you share posts with.
Note: When a friend shares a link that you posted, they can share the link with a wider audience than you originally shared it with. Keep in mind that any text you added in your post will not be shared.
When you share something on Facebook, you can choose who can see it by using the audience selector. Anyone who can see a post can like or comment on it.
When using Facebook on your mobile device, some apps and features don't have an audience selector to control the audience of posts and other stuff you share. To select the audience stuff is shared with from these apps:
- Click in the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
- Click Apps and look for the setting Old versions of Facebook for mobile
- Click Edit to the far right and select an audience from the dropdown menu
Your Audience Options
The audience selector lets you choose a specific audience. Your options include:
Public: When you share something with Public that means anyone including people off of Facebook can see it.
Friends of Friends: This audience includes all of your friends and any friends that they have.
Friends (+ friends of anyone tagged): This option lets you post stuff to your friends on Facebook. If anyone else is tagged in a post, then the audience expands to also include the tagged person and their friends.
Only Me: This option allows you to post stuff to your Timeline that is visible only to you. Posts with the audience of Only Me will appear in your News Feed but not your friends' feeds. If you tag someone in an Only Me post, they will be able to see the post.
Custom: When you choose Custom, you can selectively share something with specific people, or hide it from specific people. You can also share with specific friend lists if you’ve set them up, such as Family or Best Friends, or hide posts from your Co-Workers list. Custom also provides the option to share with groups or networks you belong to.
Anything that is available to a public audience is considered public information.
Things you share on your profileYour name, gender, username, user ID (account number), profile picture, cover photo and networks (if you choose to add these) are available to anyone since they help you connect with your friends and family:
- Your name, profile picture and cover photo help people recognize you
- Gender helps us describe you (ex: "Add her as a friend")
- Listing your networks (ex: school, workplace) allows others to find you more easily
- Username and user ID (ex: your account number) are in the URL of your profile
Other things you share
In addition, anything you choose to share with a public audience (designated by Public in your audience selector) is considered public information. Learn more about using the audience selector to control who you share with each time you post to Facebook.
The Friends option in your audience selector lets you share things with your friends on Facebook. If anyone else is tagged in a post, it becomes Friends (+) because the audience expands to include the tagged person and their friends.
If you don't want your photo or post to be visible to the friends of the people you tag, you can adjust this setting. Click the audience selector next to the story, select Custom, and uncheck the Friends of those tagged box.
When you choose the Custom option in your audience selector, you can share something with specific people, or hide it from specific people. You can also choose to share or hide posts from friend lists if you’ve set them up. Custom also gives you the option to share with groups or networks you belong to.
Learn more about choosing audiences when you share.