Ticker

Ticker shows you the things you can already see on Facebook, but in real time.
  • Keep up with the latest news as it happens
  • Listen to music with your friends
  • Click or hover over a story to join in the conversation
Keep in mind people can only see the posts, comments and likes that you share with them. So if you share something with friends, only they will see it in ticker.
Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

If you don't see ticker, check to see if you've hidden or minimized it.

To unhide ticker if your chat sidebar is closed, click Show Ticker in the upper-right corner of your News Feed.

To unhide ticker if your chat sidebar is open, make ticker bigger or smaller by dragging the horizontal bar between ticker and chat up and down. Drag it to the top to hide ticker, and drag down again to add ticker.

Learn more about hiding and resizing ticker.

You also might not be connected to people or Pages that use Facebook a lot, so there's not enough activity to make ticker useful for you. Ticker only shows up for people when there's a certain amount of account activity.

If you'd like to see more activity, you can:

Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Ticker includes live stories—things like status updates, friendships, photos, videos, links, app activity, likes and comments. You can see this activity elsewhere on Facebook. Ticker lets you see it as it happens.
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

There are two ways to hide or resize ticker, depending on whether your chat sidebar is open or closed.

If your chat sidebar is closed:

Hide ticker by clicking in the top-right corner of your News Feed. Click it again to show ticker.

If your chat sidebar is open:

Make ticker bigger or smaller by dragging the horizontal bar between ticker and chat up and down. Drag it to the top to hide ticker.

If you have feedback about the ticker, let us know.

Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Ticker stops updating when you've been idle for 15 minutes. Once we notice you're using the site again, ticker will update again.
Last edited about 4 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Ticker and Privacy

People included in the audience of the post can see your comment or like in News Feed or ticker as well as other places around Facebook. You can check who something is shared with by going to the post and hovering over the audience icon.

For example, you might comment on a photo one of your family members posts to just family. A friend of yours, who isn't included in the audience the photo was shared with, won't see a story in ticker or News Feed about your comment.

If you aren't comfortable with who can see the post, don't like it or comment on it. Learn how to delete a comment or unlike something.

Last edited over a year ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
Was the content on this page helpful to you? ·