HISD Trustee Manuel Rodriguez Sends Out Anti-GLBT Mailer to Voters

November 5, 2011 at 1:40pm

HISD Trustee Manuel Rodriguez Sends Out Anti-GLBT Mailer to Voters

 

The Houston GLBT Political Caucus strongly condemns the recent anti-GLBT campaign mailpiece sent to voters by incumbent HISD Trustee Manuel “Manny” Rodriguez. The mailpiece attacks his opponent, Ramiro Fonseca for supporting equal rights for the GLBT community and for receiving the endorsement of the Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC.

 

“GLBT youth are twelve times more likely to be bullied in schools, five times more likely to commit suicide, and eight times more likely to be homeless.” said Caucus president Noel Freeman. “A bigoted homophobe like Rodriguez has no business making decisions that affect our children.”

 

HISD recently adopted a non-discrimination policy that protects the rights of GLBT students, staff and faculty. Rodriguez’ anti-GLBT attitude runs strongly against that policy and promotes an environment of intolerance and hatred. Our schools should be an environment where our children feel safe and welcome.

 

“Manuel Rodriguez is assuming the voters of District III share the same bigoted, hateful views he holds.” Freeman said. “Houstonians have proven time and time again that such views are not welcome in our City, and have consistently rejected candidates who espouse such hateful views. We urge the voters of District III to reject Manuel Rodriguez on election day.”

 

We are also asking Caucus members and allies to call on the Houston Chronicle to reconsider its endorsement of Rodriguez because his hateful views do not represent Houston and to call on the Rodriguez campaign to apologize to the GLBT community.

 

Manuel Rodriguez Campaign

713-498-4649

mrmrodjr@yahoo.com

 

 

Houston Chronicle Editorial Board

Jeff Cohen - jeff.cohen@chron.com, 713-362-6663

Steve Jetton - steve.jetton@chron.com, 713-362-6317

James Newkirk - james.newkirk@chron.com, 713-362-6319

David Langworthy - david.langworthy@chron.com, 713-362-7209

Lisa Gray - lisa.gray@chron.com, 713.362.7077

Tim Fleck - tim.fleck@chron.com, 713.362.7731

John Wilburn - john.wilburn@chron.com, 713.362.7948