Reviews
4.8
21 Reviews
Tell people what you think
Carly Ard Shaw
· March 18, 2017
THANKFUL for an organization that speaks for the teachers and is run by members on a local, state, and national level!!!
Debra J. Mines
· April 9, 2017
GAE is a very supportive organization that protects the interests of students, teachers, and the learning community. Don't leave home without GAE!
Brian Westlake
· November 3, 2015
GAE and GFT are the only professional education associations with democratically elected leadership, and they are the only organizations that encourage teachers and ESPs to become engaged, outspoken l...eaders and advocates for their profession. See More
Ray Reeves
· March 18, 2017
GAE has been very beneficial to public education in Georgia. Most beneficial policies and laws positively affecting education are because of GAE.
Martissa Renae Moore
· March 24, 2016
Wonderful educators that have a passion for the rights of all educators...
Judith Polacek
· March 18, 2017
An excellent organization that fights for public schools, students, and educators.
Sharita Johnson Hunter
· October 26, 2015
A waste of time and money !!! I'm very disappointed. Teachers need an organization for teachers only!!!! MACE is the pit bull to combat the issues in the state of Georgia! People please make the switc...h. What have they done for teachers lately? See More
A Alexander Stella
May 1, 2012
…. these people understand all too well: “either hang together or get hanged one at a time” ......
Russell Sims
· January 13, 2015
This is a great way to exercise " One voice" for our students, thus our future!
Shirley Rushing
February 20, 2012
Bob and Shirley Rushing,
We or Travel Agent.
We give away free shopping mall,...
Please check this link out
go to http://rushingtravelbiz.com
Thank You, Bob
See More
Kyle William Loshure
September 26, 2013
Go Green!
Author Solar Independent Utility Systems Manual!
Posts

Check it out! View and/or download photos from GAE's 2018 Day at the Capitol on Flickr now.

Explore this photo album by GAE on Flickr!
flickr.com

Have you thanked a custodian today?

Image may contain: 1 person, text
Bored Teachers

Thank a custodian, today. 💪🏽

(via Teresa Kwant)

Photos
Videos
Happy Holidays from GAE
1
1
Greetings from Deborah Bridges at the #NEARA17 in Boston!
3
Can you bridge your message under pressure? The #EdSummit messaging workshop tested just that, with a few laughs.
3
Posts
Georgia Association of Educators added 2 new photos to the album: 2014 Southwest Georgia Legislative Banquet.
Yesterday at 10:47am

Rep. Brooks Coleman–House Education Committee–shares resolution recognizing Feb. 22 as Georgia Association of Educators Day at the State capitol.

#GAE members using their voices to “work the ropes” at the Capitol for #GAEDayAtTheCapitol

Image may contain: 7 people, indoor

Good Morning from #GAEDayAtTheCapitol. We’re just getting started here, much more to come!

Image may contain: 1 person, indoor

Tax windfall won't help GA education.

Georgia leaders reach deal to cut state’s top income tax rate: http://bit.ly/gataxdeal

Gov. Nathan Deal and legislative leaders announced an agreement Tuesday on changes to the state tax code.

...

The plan would cut the top state income tax rate — the rate most Georgians pay on a majority of their income — from 6 percent to 5.75 percent starting next year.

It would also double the standard deduction for Georgians. For married couples filing joint returns, the deduction would go from $3,000 to $6,000.

The proposal also would exempt jet fuel from state and most local sales taxes.

See More
Image may contain: text

Our thoughts and prayers go out to all the victims and their families of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School and the Parkland, Florida community.

It looks like you may be having problems playing this video. If so, please try restarting your browser.
Close
35,633,269 Views
ATTN:

These are the victims of the Florida high school shooting. We should remember their names and faces.

HB 787 is being heard in the full House Education Committee. This bill would use previously unallocated general state tax dollars to increase funding of state charter schools. The 2018–19 state budget still contains a $167 million austerity cut to K–12 public education. If there are additional funds in the state coffers they should be shared by all public schools. As Rep. Jan Jones noted in asking for these dollars for state charter schools, “some people say money doesn’t mat...ter, but you have to have enough.“

We believe that all public schools “have to have enough.“ Please contact the members of the House Education Committee to let them know that HB 787, favoring state charter schools, should NOT be passed. Instead, the legislature should restore the $167 million austerity cut, which would result in additional funds for ALL public schools, including state charter schools.

House Education Committee members:
Chairman Brooks Coleman: brooks.coleman@house.ga.gov
Vice Chairman David Casas: david.casas@house.ga.gov
Secretary Tommy Benton: tommy.benton@house.ga.gov
Dave Belton: dave.belton@house.ga.gov
Beth Beskin: beth.beskin@house.ga.gov
Wes Cantrel:l wes.cantrell@house.ga.gov
Doreen Carter: doreen.carter@house.ga.gov
Joyce Chandler: joyce.chandler@house.ga.gov
Pam Dickerson: pam.dickerson@house.ga.gov
Robert Dickey: robert.dickey@house.ga.gov
Mike Glanton: mike.glanton@house.ga.gov
Dewayne Hill: dewayne.hill@house.ga.gov
Scott Hilton: scott.hilton@house.ga.gov
Brenda Lopez: brenda.lopez@house.ga.gov
Howard Maxwell: howard.maxwell@house.ga.gov
Bee Nguyen: bee.nguyen@house.ga.gov
Randy Nix: randy.nix@house.ga.gov
Miriam Parris: miriam.parris@house.ga.gov
Sam Teasley: sam.teasley@house.ga.gov

See More
Image may contain: text
Georgia Association of Educators
Public & Government Service

President Chapman pens letter to Gov. Deal on impact of HB 821 on Clayton County Schools

http://www.gae.org/…/Chapman%20letter%20to%20Gov.%20Deal%20…

Image may contain: text

Don't miss out! Speaking up for Georgia's students and educators is what matters most. Let's stand on the front lines together. http://www.gae.org/gae-day-capitol

5,567 followers
Public & Government Service

Jump to 1:05 to hear GAE's Director of Government Relations, Starla Tanner, comment on HB 788, which would allow students to change school zones if “an individual has authorized use of an address for purposes of establishing residency."

Some education groups are very wary of the measure, saying it could overcrowd desirable schools and drain students from underperforming schools.
13wmaz.com

BILL UPDATE: HB 217 passed the House Ways and Means Committee; now being considered by a Conference Committee. HB 2017 is a voucher expansion tax credit bill that would increase the current cap to $85 million. CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATOR today - on your non-work devices - and ask them to support public education by not supporting HB 217. http://bit.ly/2BLbpPN

No automatic alt text available.

Well said from Georgia Teacher of the Year. No matter what organization you belong to, speaking up for Georgia's students and educators are what matters most. Let's stand on the front lines together in the fight for public education.
http://www.gae.org/gae-day-capitol

No automatic alt text available.

HB 788 is up, which would allow students to attend schools outside their attendance zone. Thoughts?

House Bill 788 lets students attend school where a friend lives
ajc.com

Interesting Wednesday read.
Many Tucson employees were wrongfully blacklisted for two decades. Shared by AJC Get Schooled:

http://tucson.com/…/article_5d49cd2b-5c32-54a8-a287-01ee62c…

The Tucson Unified School District's blacklist appears to have been kept under wraps for two decades.
tucson.com