Photos
Posts

Contest closing soon! Apply now to the Disquiet Literary Prize and come to Lisbon this July!

http://disquietinternational.org

Image may contain: text and outdoor
Disquiet: Dzanc Books International Literary Program
Community

Thrilled to announce Garth Greenwell will be joining the Fiction Faculty for Disquiet 2018!

Garth Greenwell is the author of What Belongs to You, which won the British Book Award for Debut of the Year, was longlisted for the National Book Award, and was a finalist for six other awards, including the PEN/Faulkner Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice, it was named a Best Book of 2016 by ov...er fifty publications in nine countries, and is being translated into a dozen languages. His second book, Cleanness, is forthcoming from Farrar, Straus, and Giroux. His short fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, The Paris Review, A Public Space, and VICE, and he has written criticism for The New Yorker, the London Review of Books, and the New York Times Book Review, among others. He lives in Iowa City.

See More
Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, child, closeup and outdoor
Posts

Disquiet Faculty Erica Dawson's latest book is coming this fall from Tin House

Image may contain: text

TONIGHT is the deadline to submit for the Disquiet Prize!!
Runners-up and other outstanding entrants will also be considered for financial aid!

Image may contain: text

At Disquiet you’ll have more than 10 hours!

https://saltofportugal.com/2016/09/28/10-hours-in-lisbon/…

If you arrive in Lisbon by ship, you might understand how Portuguese navigators felt as they entered the tranquil waters of the Tagus river to glide into the city’s warm embrace. Every week, a Roya…
saltofportugal.com

YESSSSS DEADLINE EXTENDED for the Disquiet Prize! Send us your story, poem, or essay by FEBRUARY 9TH for a chance for publication and to write in Lisbon for free this summer!

Image may contain: text

ONE DAY LEFT!! Submit to the Disquiet Literary Prize and win publication, tuition, airfare, and accommodations to come write with us in Lisbon this summer!! Where is the emoji for transcendental bliss?

Image may contain: text and outdoor

The Common's December Poetry Feature:

Three poems by ALBERTO de LACERDA, Transnational Spirit
Translations and introduction by SCOTT LAUGHLIN

... See More
December 2017 Poetry Feature December 29, 2017 Poetry, Translation 71SHARESShareTweetTumblrEmailPrint Three poems by ALBERTO de LACERDA, Transnational Spirit Translations and introduction by SCOTT LAUGHLIN “This is what I live for: friendship and the things of the spirit.” Alberto de Lacerda oft...
thecommononline.org

A year of emails on Trump and babies between Disquiet Faculty Padgett Powell and Program Assistant Jane Dykema

http://thefanzine.com/unpublishable-a-year-of-emails-with-…/

I was Padgett Powell’s TA for two summers at the Disquiet International Literary Program in Lisbon, and when I asked if I could interview him about his recent book, Cries for Help, Various, the real interview unfolded around discussion of the interview. What follows is a yearlong conversation abou...
thefanzine.com
The reasons why visiting Portugal should definitely be on your travel plans. How such a little country in size is huge in potential for your travels!
geekyexplorer.com

Faculty Terri Witek wins Slope Editions' Book Contest!

http://www.slopeeditions.org/…/terri-witek-wins-slope-editi…

We are thrilled to announce the winner of our 16th Annual Book Prize: The Rape Kit by Terri Witek, selected by Dawn Lundy Martin for publication in 2018. Of the winning manuscript, Martin writes, “Terri Witek’s The Rape Kit is a powerful procedural collection of poems that unearths the obstructi...
slopeeditions.org

BIG NEWS for Disquiet PA Gabe Bump!!!!

Ace @Gabe Bump's brilliant and important novel goes big. Deal of the day at Publisher's Marketplace...

DEAL OF THE DAY

...

Fiction: Debut:

University of Massachusetts-Amherst MFA graduate Gabriel Bump's EVERYWHERE YOU DON'T BELONG, following a young black man who comes of age in South Shore, Chicago, where he navigates abandonment, police brutality, riots, teenage love, and familial obligations, and finds himself stuck in a constant search for a place to belong, pitched in the vein of Justin Torres, Junot Diaz and Paul Beatty, to Kathy Pories at Algonquin, in a six-figure deal, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, by Alexa Stark at Trident Media Group (World)

See More

Happy Holidays! Give yourself the gift of Disquiet 2018! Lit Prize deadline January 31! Luso/Lusa American Fellowship deadline February 9!

http://disquietinternational.org

Image may contain: text and outdoor
Image may contain: one or more people and text

Dear Disquiet friends,

As the summer winds down, we want to extend a special invitation for supporters and enthusiasts of Disquiet to enter the Dzanc/Disquiet Open Borders Book Prize, ending Sept. 15.

Global awareness, international communication, and multicultural understanding have always been the principal goals of the annual Disquiet Literary Festival in Lisbon. Established in 2017, the Dzanc Books/Disquiet Open Borders Book Prize seeks fiction and nonfiction that embodie...s these same tenets: book-length manuscripts expressing diverse points of view, exploring global ways of thinking and being, and taking readers into experiences far beyond their own, whether in the U.S. or half a world away. The winning submission will be awarded a $5,000 advance and publication in Fall 2018 by the Disquiet imprint of Dzanc Books.

The Open Borders Book Prize, along with our Prize for Fiction and Short Story Collection Prize, will close September 15, 2017. You can enter any of these contests via our Submittable page. There is a $25 submission fee for each entry. The winners will be announced on November 1, along with a list of finalists in each category.

See More
Image may contain: text