I got a message from Facebook saying that account recovery has started on my account. What is this and what do I do?
If you received an email from Facebook called Facebook Account Recovery and you think someone started this process without your permission, please take the following steps to secure your account:
  1. Immediately call any friends listed in the message and tell them to ignore any messages they receive.
  2. Secure your account by changing your password and reviewing recent login activity.
Note: Facebook will never email you asking for your password. If you have any questions about this, please visit the Security section of the Help Center.
Was this information helpful?