Get Help From Friends
Get Help
If you're locked out of your account, you can choose friends to be trusted contacts who can help you get back into your account. To request help from your trusted contacts:
  1. Click Forgot account? on the login page.
  2. If prompted, find your account by entering your email, phone, username or full name and click Search.
  3. Look at the list of email addresses listed on your account. If you don't have access to any of these, click No longer have access to these?
  4. Enter a new email or phone that you know you can access and click Continue.
  5. Click Reveal My Trusted Contacts and type the full name of one of your trusted contacts.
  6. You'll see a set of instructions that includes a special URL. The URL contains a recovery code that only your trusted contacts can access. Call your friends and give them the URL so that they can open the link and give the security code to you.
  7. Use the recovery codes from your trusted contacts to access your account.
Please be sure to call your friends or talk to them in person when asking for the special security code. If your Facebook account was hacked, someone else could also have access to your email account.
Was this information helpful?
We're sorry to hear you're having trouble getting your security codes.
Here's what we suggest:
  • If you're having trouble getting in touch with your friends, try calling them one more time.
  • If one of your friends is having trouble getting the code, ask them to double check the link (URL) is correct and try refreshing the page.
Was this information helpful?
After you complete a security check, you'll have to wait 24 hours to log into your Facebook account. During this time, your account will still be visible to your friends on Facebook, but you won't be able to access it. This waiting period is an extra security precaution we set up to protect your account and the information in it. We appreciate your patience with this security measure.
Was this information helpful?
If one of your friends ever gets locked out of their account, they may call you for help if you're listed as one of their trusted contacts. All you'll need to do is:
  1. Visit the URL your friend gives you to access a special security code.
  2. Give your friend the code, either over the phone or in person.
Be sure to give your friend the security code over the phone or in person. We require this to make sure that nobody else gets into their Facebook account by pretending to be them.
If your friend hasn't started the process to secure their account and needs help, ask them to visit the Help Center to get started.
Was this information helpful?
Stay Safe
You can choose friends to be trusted contacts in case you're ever locked out of your Facebook account. After you've chosen your friends, they'll be able to send you a recovery code with a special URL you can use to get back into your account.
To choose your trusted contacts:
  1. Go to your Security and Login Settings
  2. Scroll down to Choose 3 to 5 friends to contact if you get locked out and click Edit
  3. Click Choose friends and follow the on-screen instructions
After you've chosen your trusted contacts, you can always click Edit to change or remove the friends you've chosen.
Learn how to contact your friends when you need help getting back into your account.
Was this information helpful?
Here are a few things you can do to keep your account secure:
  • Protect your password. Don't use your Facebook password anywhere else online, and never share it with other people. Your password should be difficult to guess. Avoid including your name or common words. Learn more about creating a strong password.
  • Never share your login information. Scammers may create fake websites that look like Facebook and ask you to login with your email and password. Always check the website's URL before you enter your login information. When in doubt, type into your browser to get to Facebook. Learn more about avoiding phishing.
  • Log out of Facebook when you use a computer you share with other people. If you forget, you can log out remotely.
  • Don't accept friend requests from people you don't know. Scammers may create fake accounts to friend people. Becoming friends with scammers might allow them to spam your timeline, tag you in posts and send you malicious messages.
  • Watch out for malicious software. Learn the signs of an infected computer or device and how to remove malicious software. Keep your web browser up to date and remove suspicious applications or browser add-ons.
  • Never click suspicious links, even if they appear to come from a friend or a company you know. This includes links on Facebook (example: on posts) or in emails. Keep in mind that Facebook will never ask you for your password in an email. If you see a suspicious link on Facebook, report it.
  • Use our extra security features. For example, you can get alerts about unrecognized logins and choose friends to be your trusted contacts. If you're logged into Facebook on a computer, you can use Security Checkup to review your security settings.
Was this information helpful?